Association Best Prize


On a three-year rotation, the Association offers a prize for the best dissertation, the best early career article, and best first book.  Applications are solicited each fall and the award is made the following spring, with an honorarium of $250. Authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible for consideration. 

The 2018 prize is divided between two winners:

Thanks to the prize committee:  Antonio Cazorla-Sanchez (chair), Ivana Elbl, and Aitana Guia.

Schedule of upcoming awards:

2018-2019:  book

2019-2020: dissertation

2020-2021:  article

The 2017 winner of the Best Dissertation Prize was Alejandro Gomez del Moral for “Buying into Change: Consumer Culture and the Department Store in the Transformation(s) of Spain, 1939–1982” (History, Rutgers, 2014 ).  Honorable mention went to  Vanesa Rodriguez-Galindo, “Ways of Being Modern in Madrid: Urban Change, Street Life, and Customs in Late Nineteenth-Century Print Culture” (History of Art, UNED, Madrid – Universidad de Cantabria, Santander, 2015).  Thanks to the prize committee, Jessica Davidson, Marie Kelleher, and Marta Vicente, for evaluating the submissions.