ASPHS 2021 Annual Conference

A reduced version of the 2021 conference will be held online in several sessions from April 17-May 1, with two homenaje sessions, a keynote speaker, and six independently organized sessions.

See below for the full program. We request that you be a current member to access these sessions – click on “Member Login” in the upper right-hand corner to log in and view or update your membership status.

There will be no registration fee for the Conference, but we do encourage voluntary donations of any size. (See the blue Donate button at the bottom right corner of the page!)  Now that the ASPHS is an official charitable organization, we encourage donations as well as membership renewal to keep the business of the Association going, including the Bulletin and the prizes.  Donations will also support the growth of a graduate student fund to be used for travel to future Conferences. Many thanks for your support!

The 2022 conference will be held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, hosted by Eugenia Afinoguenova of Marquette University.


2021 VIRTUAL CONFERENCE PROGRAM

All events are listed in Pacific Daylight Time (8 hours earlier than London, 9 hours earlier than Madrid)


SATURDAY APRIL 17, 8.30-10:00 AM PDT

It is not Safe”: Law and Prejudice in Early Modern Iberia”

Chair: Ivana Elbl (Trent University) <ielbl@trentu.ca>

Presentations:

  1. “Safe Conduct and Minority Travellers: Travel in Late Medieval Aragon.” Johan (Hannah) MacKechnie (Queen’s University) <johan.mackechnie@queensu.ca>
  2. “Inquisitors’ Bodily Dissimulation in Legal and Public Context.” Cristian Berco (Bishop’s University). <cberco@ubishops.ca>
  3. “Complicity and Condemnation, Secrecy and Common Knowledge: A Sex Scandal at a Home for Boys in 18th-Century Spain.” Valentina Tikoff (De Paul University) <vtikoff@depaul.edu>

Format: A “workshop” panel open to all ASPHS members/conference participants, with three 20. min blocks per presenter and a 10-15 min. for Q & A.

Zoom Link:  https://trentu.zoom.us/j/94616177700?pwd=RkEvWHgwdjZabzZmVHpMU1BXMEZ5Zz09
Passcode: 324333  (The organizers ask that you show up a few minutes early if possible, for Zoom security.)


FRIDAY,  APRIL 23, 8:30-10:00 AM

Iberian Dictatorships

Chair/Commentator: Francisco Leira (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela) <francisco.leira@usc.es>

Presentations:

  1. “Banal Print and Hispanidad after the Spanish Civil War.” Jonathan Greenwood (University of Rochester), jonathan.greenwood@rochester.edu
  2. “Spanish Anarchism in Exile: Debates and Networks, 1945-1965.” Dolores Augustine (St. John’s University) <augustid@stjohns.edu>
  3. “Everyday Life under the PIDE: a Quantitative Survey on the Relations Between Ordinary Citizens and Salazar’s Political Police 1955-1974”. Duncan Simpson (Universidade de Lisboa) <duncan.simpson@ics.ulisboa.pt>

Microsoft Teams: https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19:meeting_ZmU1ZTEwMzAtNDI1My00OTQ1LWE3MTEtODBhYzU0ZDNhMTJl@thread.v2/0?context=%7B%22Tid%22:%22175b710c-7031-4d16-ace5-12243c4ed6d6%22,%22Oid%22:%22edb9dc9d-87af-4790-86f6-47e77d2ac21a%22%7D​ 


FRIDAY  APRIL 23, 8:30-10:00 AM PDT (please note change from previously scheduled time of 11:30)

La religión católica en el franquismo: nuevos sujetos de studio

Chair/Discussant: Ana Planet (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), ana.planet@uam.es

Presentations:

  1. “Nuestro aliado principal”: comunistas y católicos entre 1956 y 1975.” Julio de la Cueva Merino (UCLM) <julio.Cueva@uclm.es>
  2. “Pautas, dinámicas y controversias del aggiornamento de las religiosas en la España nacionalcatólica.” Verónica García Martín (UCLM) <Veronica.GMartin@uclm.es>
  3. “La práctica religiosa durante el servicio militar en el primer franquismo: la figura del capellán castrense” Alberto González González (UCLM) <albertogonzalezgon1@gmail.com>
  4. “Otras expresiones del catolicismo: seminaristas maronitas en la España del franquismo.”  Irene González González (GRESAM-UCLM) <Irene.Gonzalez@uclm.es>

Microsoft Teams:  Click here to join the meeting


FRIDAY APRIL 23, 10:00-11:30 AM PDT

Homage Panel for Aurora Morcillo

Chair: Antonio Cazorla-Sánchez, Trent University

Paula de la Cruz-Férnandez, Ph.D., University of Florida; Sandie Holguin, University of Oklahoma; Maria Labbato, Florida International University; Ricardo Pelegrin Taboada, Western Oregon University

Zoom Linkhttps://tcu.zoom.us/j/97575329267?pwd=OEVrNHNDV0VWU2ljbHFTc1VXKzhyZz09
Password: 383374


FRIDAY APRIL 23, 11.30AM – 1.30 PM PDT

La religión católica en el franquismo: nuevos sujetos de studio

CHANGED to Friday April 23, 8:30-10:00 am PDT


FRIDAY APRIL 23, 12:00-1.30 PM PDT

International Solidarity and the Spanish Civil War

Chair/Moderator: Antonio Cazorla-Sanchez (Trent University) <acazorla@trentu.ca>

Presentations:

  1. “Debunking the Myth of the “Wonder-Working”: Popular Front, Or Why Unity of Action for Spain Would Not Happen.” Nicolas Lépine (Lakehead University)
  2. 2. “We need only speak the Language of Revolution”: Non-Hispanic Non-Combatant Volunteers in Revolutionary Catalonia, 1936-1937.” Tyler Wentzell (University of Toronto)
  3. “The Spanish Civil War’s Long Ripples among Canadian Immigrant Radicals during the Second World War.” Michael Petrou (Carleton University)

Zoom Link:  https://trentu.zoom.us/j/92196843358?pwd=dmRzeEp2WkJscloxeWh1TVAwMlVxUT09
Passcode: 727496


SATURDAY APRIL 24, 10AM-11.30AM PDT (1 pm New York, 6 pm London, 7 pm Madrid)

Homage Panel for David Ringrose

Chair: Jesús Cruz, University of Delaware

Carla R. Phillips, University of Minnesota (Emeritus); William D. Phillips, University of Minnesota (Emeritus); Jack Owens, Idaho State University (Emeritus); Pamela Radcliff, University of CA, San Diego; Adrian Shubert, York University; David Ortiz, University of Arizona

Zoom Link: https://tcu.zoom.us/j/91984236684?pwd=NzVITlhubk1pQWQ1Ti9ITC91MGtkUT09
Password: 713747 


SATURDAY APRIL 24, 12:30 PM PDT (3:30 pm New York, 8:30 pm London, 9:30 pm Madrid)

ASPHS BOARD MEETING — board members, see your email for the Zoom link.


SUNDAY APRIL 25, 10:00 AM-11.30 AM PDT (1 pm New York, 6 pm London, 7 pm Madrid)

Keynote Speaker Prof. Filipe Ribeiro de Meneses of the National University of Ireland, Maynooth:  “Who remembers what in Portugal, and why?”

Zoom Link: https://tcu.zoom.us/j/96881731745?pwd=ZW93WTJHcnBLOTZ4YThESHUxemV6Zz09
Password: 033997


SUNDAY APRIL 25, 12:00-1:00 PM PDT (3 pm New York, 8 pm London, 9 pm Madrid)

ASPHS Business Meeting for all ASPHS Members

Zoom Link: https://tcu.zoom.us/j/94138450802?pwd=bmo3TTZwVEZBU0NDUEp3TGFEU2tWdz09
Password: 891645


FRIDAY, APRIL 30, 8.30-10.00 AM (11:30 am New York, 4:30 pm London, 5:30 pm Madrid)

Roundtable: Radical Pedagogies of the Hispanic World
This roundtable poses education as a cultural transmitter that has shaped historical change across the Hispanic and Hispanophone world. It moves beyond the aula (Dussel and Caruso 1999) and the textbook to consider non-traditional sites of education: monuments, memorials and museums; theatres and galleries; and music, literature, film and other media. We seek to interrogate how such spaces serve both to enforce and challenge dominant discourses of power and authority across national and even linguistic boundaries, particularly in moments of transition, consolidation or protest. With contributions drawing from theatre, children’s literature, art education, the popular press and other vehicles, this roundtable takes a critical approach across time and space to illuminate the ways in which cultures of education impact the political and social public sphere and contribute to the formation of citizens and others.

Conveners: Anna Kathryn Kendrick and Parker Lawson

Participants: Nathaniel Andrews (Leeds), Cecilia Enjuto Rangel (Oregon), Anna Kathryn Kendrick (NYU Shanghai), Parker Lawson (Cambridge), Till Kössler (Halle)

Zoom Link: https://nyu.zoom.us/j/6178183666 


SATURDAY MAY 1, 8.30-10 AM (11:30 am New York, 4:30 pm London, 5:30 pm Madrid)

The Primo de Rivera Dictatorship

Chair: Sasha Pack, SUNY-Buffalo <sdpack@buffalo.edu>

Presentations:

  1. “Loyal and not so Loyal Right: Primo de Rivera and International Politics in Sofía Casanova’s Interwar Journalism and Fiction.”  Dorota Heneghan (Louisiana State University) <dheneg1@lsu.edu>
  2. “The Iron Surgeon Through Anglo-American Eyes: How Perceptions of Spaniards Rendered Primo de Rivera’s Dictatorship Acceptable.” Richard Elliott (Kent State University) <rellio14@kent.edu>
  3. “The Worker Housing Movement in Cordoba in the 1920s.”  Patricia A. Schechter (Portland State University) < schechp@pdx.edu>

Zoom Link:  https://buffalo.zoom.us/j/91384124756?pwd=RlZiWEhGWnhRVmNFem1veFhjSFFuUT09
Passcode: 462551