Please note – this year’s deadline has been extended to January 15, 2020.

Initiated in 2003, the Bishko Prize honors Professor Charles Julian Bishko, the distinguished historian of medieval Iberia who taught for 39 years at the University of Virginia.

The Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies solicits submissions for the annual Charles Julian Bishko Memorial Prize for the best article published in 2019 in the field of medieval Iberian history by a North American scholar. This year’s prize, which carries an honorarium of $250, will be announced at the 2020 annual meeting of ASPHS in Toronto (April 22-25, 2020). Articles may be written in Castilian, English, Catalan, Galician, Portuguese or French. Authors must be current members of the ASPHS. Authors should submit one copy of the article and a short (2-page) CV in PDF form to the chair of the committee and the committee members via email by January 15, 2020.  Please direct queries to the chair of the prize committee, Michelle Armstrong-Partida ( as well.

The 2019 winner was Andrew Devereux, ““Declared Enemies and Pacific Infidels: Spanish Doctrines of ‘Just War’ in the Mediterranean and Atlantic,” Republics of Letters 5, no. 3.