The Association promotes interest in the scholarly study of Spain and Portugal through History and related disciplines.

Association for
Spanish and Portuguese
Historical Studies
Welcome to the ASPHS home page!

Thanks to organizers Erin Rowe, Gabe Paquette, Clinton Young, and Maria Portuondo for hosting an excellent conference on the Johns Hopkins campus in Baltimore. Pictures will be posted soon!

Congratulations to this year's prize recipients: Belen Vicens for the Best First Article; Glaire D. Anderson for the Biskho Prize; and Ana Isabel López-Salazar Codes for the Oliveira Marques award.  See the individual prize pages for more information.

The 47th ASPHS annual meeting will be hosted by David Ringrose and Pamela Radcliff of the University of California-San Diego and the Maritime Museum of San Diego,  March 17-20, 2016.
The Bulletin for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies is open-access and available to everyone. Issue 39, vol. 1 (2014) has just been published at

The 2014 Newsletter is now available.  ASPHS thanks Marie Kelleher for her years as editor, and welcomes Luis Morera as the new editor of the newsletter.